HOW TO OBTAIN A MARRIAGE LICENSE FOR
RUIDOSO AND LINCOLN COUNTY
There is only one location in Lincoln County in
which to obtain a marriage license.
The Bride and Groom must appear in person to purchase the
license at the County Clerk’s Office in Carrizozo.
County Clerk Office
300 Central Ave.
Carrizozo, NM 88301
575-648-2394 Ext. #6 or 800-687-2705 ext #6
View Larger Map
Apply in person (Bride and Groom) Monday
8:00AM – 5:00PM
$25.00 fee (Cash, Check or Money Order)
Bring photo identification such as driver’s license,
Military ID, Passport.
A birth certificate may also be used in conjunction with
a picture ID.
Must be over 18.
If under 18 both parents must be present to sign the application. A court order is required to issue a marriage license for anyone under 16.
To be married in Lincoln County you may not use a
marriage license issued from another state. However, the license
can be issued in any New Mexico county and it will be valid in
License must be returned to the County Clerk’s
Office within 90 days of marriage.
You may obtain the marriage license in advance.
Until the marriage occurs the license does not have an
expiration date. There is no waiting period and the license is
valid upon issue.
New Mexico laws do not allow same sex marriages.
Blood tests are not required.
You will need two witnesses at the wedding ceremony
to sign the wedding license.
Persons who can perform marriage: All Judges,
For more wedding information in Ruidoso and
Lincoln County please visit